Skip to content




This site is a repository of administrative information posted by the Cornell University CMS Phase 2 Upgrades NSF MREFC Project Office for U.S. CMS Principal Investigators, and their designated staff, collaborating on the U.S. CMS HL-LHC NSF MREFC Project.

The high luminosity large hadron collider (HL-LHC) compact muon solenoid (CMS) upgrade project is supported by the National Science Foundation under the Major Research Equipment and Facility Construction program, NSF award ID 1946735. Upgrades to the CMS detector funded by this award are part of a larger, major international effort to increase the luminosity of the large hadron collider. For over two decades, physicists and engineers have been collaborating on the LHC program. In total, 45 funding agencies, seven national laboratories, and 98 U.S. universities are involved in the current upgrades.

Cornell University holds the prime award for the U.S. CMS MREFC. The project is managed by U.S. CMS Principle Investigator and NSF Deputy Project Manager, Dr. Anders Ryd. Institutions collaborating under NSF award ID 1946735 are as follows.

  • Boston University
  • The Catholic University of America
  • Cornell University
  • Florida Institute of Technology
  • Johns Hopkins
  • The University of Kansas
  • Kansas State University
  • University of Maryland
  • University of Minnesota
  • University of Nebraska - Lincoln
  • University of Notre Dame
  • Northeastern University
  • Northwestern University
  • The Ohio State University
  • Purdue University Northwest
  • Purdue University West Lafayette
  • Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
  • State University of New York at Buffalo
  • Texas A&M University
  • University of California, Davis
  • University of California, Los Angeles
  • University of California, Riverside
  • University of California, Santa Barbara
  • University of Colorado Boulder
  • University of Florida
  • The University of Illinois at Chicago
  • University of Puerto Rico - Mayaguez
  • The University of Tennessee, Knoxville
  • University of Virginia
  • University of Wisconsin - Madison
  • Vanderbilt University
  • Wayne State University
  • William Marsh Rice University